The results are in from the Tuesday, April 6, 2021 Spring Election. In the City of Bloomer the only local contested race was for the ward 4 alderperson position. Kevin Zwiefelhofer defeated Matt Meinen 51 to 36 to become the new ward 4 alderperson. Incumbent Jason Bauch did not seek re-election.

In the only statewide race, for Superintendent of Public Instruction, Jill Underly (526,286 votes (58 percent)) defeated Deborah Kerr (386,392 votes (42 percent)). In Chippewa County Underly defeated Kerr 4,045 to 3,807.

In the Wisconsin Court of Appeals-District 3 race, also on the ballot in our area, Gregory Gill was the winner with 55 percent (123,468) of the vote defeating Rick Cveykus who got 45 percent (100,168) of the vote district wide. In Chippewa County Gill got 4,086 votes to Cveykus’ 2,874 votes.

In the Bloomer Advance circulation area, there were also contested races for school board in the New Auburn School District; town chair and supervisors in the Town of Cleveland and town chair in the Town of Sampson.

Six candidates­ were seeking three seats on the New Auburn school board. Nick Jones (236 votes), Lindy Reimer (189 votes) and Louise Cody (177 votes) were the winners. Also running, Staci Martinson got 146 votes, Kimberly Bischel got 133 votes and Tanya Leo got 95 votes.

In the town of Cleveland, the Chairman race went to Mike Beighley with 119 votes over William Jenneman with 63 votes. The Supervisor 1 position went to Peter Hetke with 91 votes to Mike Mulhern’s 89 votes. The Supervisor 2 race saw Mark Rogarge win with 110 votes to Barbara Conrad’s 65 votes.

The Town of Sampson Chairman position went to Jim Jerabek with 153 votes over Lynn Trowbridge with 89 votes.